Call for Nominations: ICT Policy Review Panel

Department of Communications
Please note: this opportunity closing date has passed and may not be available any more.
Opportunity closing date: 
Thursday, 2 August, 2012
Opportunity type: 

The Minister of Communications, Dina Pule, hereby invites nominations for members of the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Policy Review Panel. The Review Panel follows the ICT Colloquium that was held in April 2012 as a first step in the formulation of an Integrated National ICT Policy.

The main purpose of the ICT Policy Review Panel is to advance the outcomes of the ICT Policy Colloquium towards the formulation of a Green Paper and thereafter the White Paper on Integrated National ICT Policy. The Review Panel will be supported by Working Committees and will be required in the first instance to make recommendations to the Minister within six months of establishment.

The Review Panel will comprise up to 20 members who will, when viewed together, constitute an ICT core expert group, from who six will be appointed as chairpersons of six working committees. These committees will represent the following areas: broadcasting, telecommunications and information technology, postal, content development, digitising government and investment and manufacturing.

In appointing the members of the panel, the Minister will consider a broad spectrum of required skills, including, inter alia, engineering, legal, economics, education, business development, financial, regulatory and research.

The terms of reference for the Review Panel are available on the Department of Communications website

The following information should be supplied in respect of the person nominated:

  • Curriculum vitae;
  • Full names;
  • Identity number;
  • Physical and postal addresses;
  • Telephone and facsimile numbers;
  • E-mail address;
  • Organisation represented; if applicable; and
  • Signature of person nominating and person nominated.

The closing date for nominations is 30 calendar days from the date of publication of this invitation. Nominations received after closing date may be disregarded. Nominations should be addressed to Themba Phiri, the Deputy Director-General, ICT Development, Department of Communications, and the address below.

Postal address: Private X860, Pretoria, 0001.

Physical address: First Floor, Block A3, iParioli Office Park, 1166 Park Street, Hatfield, Pretoria.


Mr Phiri, Tel: 012 427 7718/7703/8000

For more about the Department of Communications, refer to

To view other opportunities, visit

NGO Services

NGO Services