IWMF: Courage in Journalism Award for Women

Pambazuka, 10 February 2005

Deadline: 15 March 2005

The International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) is accepting nominations for its Courage in Journalism Awards and one Lifetime Achievement Award. The Courage in Journalism Awards honour women working in the news media who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as government oppression, political pressure, physical danger or other intimidating obstacles. The award carries a cash prize of US$5,000 and a crystal sculpture that symbolises freedom and courage.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognises a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for future generations of women in the media. Recipients also demonstrate a strong commitment to freedom of the press and a solid record of accomplishments in journalism. A crystal sculpture is presented with this award.

For more information, visit International Women's Media Foundation.

NGO Services

NGO Services